If you are convicted of knowingly driving without insurance, or if you allow someone to drive your car without insurance, or even if your car’s insurance lapses without your knowledge, your license may be suspended for 12 months.
The owner or the person who holds title on the vehicle is responsible for maintaining insurance on that vehicle. You must have insurance, at a minimum, for $15,000 for the injury or death of one person, $30,000 for the injury or death of more than one person, and $5000 for property damage. Never lend your car to a friend or family member without first checking the status of their insurance, unless you have added their name to your own personal insurance.
Community service and fines are usually the products of a first offense. We can work with you to ensure that both of these are minimized, particularly for a first offense. The more cumulative offenses you have, the more likely it is that you face increased fines and a lengthy suspension of your license.
The priciest aspect of driving without insurance is the possible penalty to your insurance. You will face a loss of 9 points under current New Jersey law. This will make insurance on any vehicle in your future very costly. While working with an attorney can minimize these penalties, you should be aware of what the potential consequences are. We will outline all of them and give you an exact summation of where we think your case will go and what it will take to mount a proper defense for you.
If the insurance has only lapsed for a month to two months, the court will frequently allow a downgrading of the charge to unlicensed driver or to driving while suspended, especially if you have a reasonable excuse as to why the insurance was not renewed. In some cases, it has been successfully argued that the defendant thought that their spouse had renewed the insurance, and the lapse is a simple misunderstanding. This defense may also work if the insurance lapse is longer, if no other convictions exist.
If the insurance company did not issue a certified letter that revoked the insurance policy, the driver may not be liable for the lapse. There are quite a few instances such as this that can lead to a lapse in insurance, and an experienced attorney such as the ones that we employ at our firm will be able to pinpoint the one that fits your situation exactly.
New Jersey car accident lawyers are going to know the intricacies of traffic and insurance law much better than anyone else. Our firm has some great auto accident attorneys from New Jersey.
In some cases, these charges can be reduced or eliminated through successful plea bargaining between your lawyer and the municipal prosecutor. The key is to have a dedicated traffic attorney who knows the ins and outs of the law.